The Delaware League of Local Governments (DLLG) is a statewide, nonprofit, nonpartisan association of city, town, village, and county governments established in 1963 to improve and assist local governments through legislative advocacy at the state and federal levels. In addition, the League serves as a clearinghouse for important governmental and community-oriented information. League staff assists members with research, technical, and professional services that are designed to enhance local governmental responsiveness and local public image. The membership serves all of Delaware’s 57 municipalities and the state’s three counties. League meetings are monthly except during the summer and include an annual meeting in September.

The DLLG is governed by a President, Vice President and Executive Committee made up of local government officials. The Executive Committee is elected by the League membership at an annual meeting held in September and provides guidance to the League staff. The League has a Legislative Committee, which recommends and approves positions for the league on issues of concern at the state and national level. The DLLG staff performs the ongoing functions of the League under the guidance and consent of the executive Committee, League Officers and policy statements drafted by the Legislative Committee.

DLLG has worked cooperatively with the University of Delaware’s Institute for Public Administration (IPA) over the past several decades to provide valuable information, support, and leadership-development programs to Delaware municipalities. DLLG also works with the Office of the Governor and state of Delaware agencies involved with local governments.

The League is also a member of the National League of Cities.

For more information contact:
Carl F. Luft, Executive Director
Office: (302) 678-0991
Cell: (302) 388-0641